Cotswold Wildlife Park

Despite living less than ten minutes away from Cotswold Wildlife Park, I hadn’t paid a visit until July of last year. Christmas saw Santa bring me a season ticket/annual pass which I didn’t redeem until today because the weather has been, frankly, English. The weathermen,  however, were spot on for today. The sun was out first thing and today was the day to get back there. It took a good half hour to get through to the main ticket kiosks and there were four queues running which I wasn’t quite prepared for. For various reasons, I didn’t stay very long but this was a lovely time out from the world while I was there.

Here are just a few images. I didn’t take a great deal of photos this time around because it was just  a short time out of the house and I’ve not been feeling too well all weekend anyway.

The main house

The main house

Giant tortoise. All three were out taking a stroll. Quite amazing to see them walking with such a weight to carry.

Giant tortoise. All three were out taking a stroll. Quite amazing to see them walking with such a weight to carry.

 

Meerkat. This was a small enclosure. I didn't see the main one by the penguin area today but the two pups in here were just as cute.

Meerkat. This was a small enclosure. I didn’t see the main one by the penguin area today but the two pups in here were just as cute.

Round to the right was one being either fed or handled by people which I was concerned about for both parties. No sign of staff advising them otherwise though.

Round to the right was one being either fed or handled by people which I was concerned about for both parties. No sign of staff advising them otherwise though.

 

Amur Leopard. Quite excited to see this beauty so well today. Last time it was walking circles in front of the window, through the bushes, making viewing quite difficult.

Amur Leopard. Quite excited to see this beauty so well today. Last time it was walking circles in front of the window, through the bushes, making viewing quite difficult.

Group portrait

Group portrait

 

I should have made a note as to which type of owl this is. Beautiful!

I should have made a note as to which type of owl this is. Beautiful!

I felt so very sorry for pending guests. The queues immediately outside of the park were as we’d left them, two hour previously, but continued on the main road, two miles to the Burford roundabout and stretched further, bound for Witney. I do hope everybody who made the trek today was able to get in and enjoyed themselves.

Leave a Reply

